Skip to content
Dash & Drive

The best windshield repair kits

A resin kit stops a chip spreading for about thirteen dollars. It is not a cosmetic product and it is not a repair for every kind of damage.

By Sawyer V. · Published · How we research

We have not tested any of this. Everything below is compiled from published manufacturer specifications, and the arithmetic is printed so you can check it. This page carries affiliate links: if you buy through one we earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it does not change the order of the picks. Full disclosure.

The short answer

Buy the Permatex 09103. It is the only kit here that publishes the figure that decides the purchase — bullseye damage up to 1-1/4 inches on most laminated windshields — and its spring-lock syringe regulates resin pressure instead of asking you to judge it by hand. It cures in a stated 15 minutes of daylight with no UV lamp. If the damage is a crack rather than a chip, the Rain-X kit is the only one publishing a procedure for one.

#PickInstallScorePrice
1

Permatex 09103 Windshield Repair Kit

Knowing before you buy whether your chip is too big

Drops in9.3/10$13.50 - view on Amazon
2

JOPHY Windshield Chip Repair Kit, 2-pack

Two cars, or a second try after the first one goes wrong

Drops in9.2/10$15.98 - view on Amazon
3

J-B Weld 2100 Windshield Saver Repair Kit

A second opinion on the same 1-1/4 inch limit

Drops in9.0/10$13.74 - view on Amazon
4

Rain-X 600001 Windshield Repair Kit

Cracks as well as bullseyes

Drops in9.0/10$12.67 - view on Amazon
Click any row to jump to the full write-up further down this page. The “install” column is how the thing attaches to the car, which is the axis that decides whether you actually fit it on a Saturday.

Prices last verified September 24, 2026. They move constantly; the figure on Amazon when you click is the real one.

Permatex 09103 Windshield Repair Kit

This is not a cosmetic repair

The Auto Glass Safety Council states that a windshield provides up to 45% of the structural integrity of the vehicle cabin in a front-end collision, and up to 60% during a rollover. It is a bonded structural panel, not a window.

That reframes what these kits do. A resin kit is not tidying up an eyesore. It is filling a void so that flexing, thermal cycling and the next pothole do not turn a chip into a crack that runs the width of the glass. Every maker here describes the job the same way: stopping the spread.

The measurement that decides everything

Two of these kits tell you the largest damage they will handle. Two do not, and that omission is the difference between knowing before you start and finding out afterwards.

KitMax damageResinCureCovers cracks
Permatex 091031-1/4 in bullseyeNot publishedDaylight, 15 minNot stated
J-B Weld 21001-1/4 in0.025 fl ozNot publishedNot stated
Rain-X 600001Not publishedNot publishedDirect sunlightYes, published
JOPHY 2-packNot published2 x 20 mlDaylightNot stated
Published figures only. A blank is a figure the maker does not state.

When to stop and call a professional

  • It is in your line of sight. A cured repair is stronger but it is rarely invisible, and a permanent optical distortion directly in front of the driver is a worse outcome than the chip was.
  • It reaches the edge of the glass. Edge damage is where the structural bond lives. These kits describe themselves as repairing to the first layer of laminated glass, and that is not the same job.
  • There is a camera pod behind the mirror. Lane keeping and automatic braking look through that glass. Work in the camera's field of view is not a driveway decision.
  • It is bigger than the published limit. There is no partial credit here.

A national consensus standard exists for exactly this question — ANSI/AGSC/NWRD/ROLAGS 002-2022, the Repair of Laminated Automotive Glass Standard — which is a reasonable signal that “is this repairable” is a real technical question rather than a matter of confidence.

Why most DIY repairs look cloudy

Rain-X is unusually direct about this, publishing three named failure modes: applying the resin too quickly, air pockets forming during the repair, and repairing a break that has already been contaminated by dirt or water. All three produce the same visible result — a hazy white patch where a clear repair should be.

  1. Speed is the enemy. Resin has to displace air out of a branching void. Pressure applied fast traps the air instead of pushing it out.
  2. Water is worse than dirt. A chip that has been rained on holds moisture in the break. Resin will not bond through it.
  3. Do not press harder. Rain-X warns explicitly that pressing too hard can extend the crack. The resin does the work.

The practical consequence: put a kit in the glovebox before you need one. The difference between a repair done the same afternoon and one done next month is most of the difference between a good result and a cloudy one.

The applicator is the part worth paying for

All four kits supply broadly the same resin chemistry cured by daylight. What differs is how the resin is driven into the break. Permatex uses a spring-lock syringe that regulates the pressure automatically; the others rely on you applying light, even pressure by feel, which is precisely the variable Rain-X identifies as a failure mode.

JOPHY takes the opposite approach and simply gives you more resin — two 20 ml bottles rather than the single-use quantities everyone else supplies — on the reasonable assumption that first attempts often fail. That is honest, and it is a good buy for a household with several cars. For one chip in one windshield, the kit that controls the pressure is the better thirteen dollars.

The rest of the glass

A chip is one of four things that make a windshield hard to see through, and the other three are cheaper to fix. Worn blades smear, interior film causes night glare, and a glass treatment changes how much you need the wipers at all. See also the wiper blade page and washer fluid, which is the one people top up with water and then wonder why the glass smears.

Every pick, with the working

Each entry lists the specifications the maker publishes, the axis scores those specifications produce, and what you give up. Rows that read “Not published” are not omissions on our side: they are things the maker will not commit to in writing, and they cost the product points on the transparency axis. Specifications compiled September 4, 2026.

Our pickKnowing before you buy whether your chip is too big

Permatex 09103 Windshield Repair Kit

9.3/10

Permatex publishes the number that decides the whole purchase: bullseye damage up to 1-1/4 inches in diameter, on most laminated windshields. The spring-lock syringe controls the resin pressure for you rather than asking you to judge it by feel, and the kit cures in sunlight in about fifteen minutes with no UV lamp.

Max damage size
1-1/4 in diameter, bullseye
Glass type
Most laminated windshields
Cure
Natural daylight, stated 15 minutes
Pressure control
Spring-lock syringe
Pieces
9
Resin volume
Not published
Warranty
Not published

List price $13.50 per Amazon listing, September 24, 2026, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

What it gets right

  • Publishes a maximum damage size: bullseye up to 1-1/4 in diameter
  • Spring-lock syringe regulates pressure automatically instead of relying on hand feel
  • Cures in natural daylight in a stated 15 minutes, so no UV lamp is needed
  • 9-piece kit includes every consumable: pedestal, adhesive disc, curing strip, razor, prep towel

Flaws

  • Single-use resin, so a second chip means a second kit
  • Works on bullseye damage; long cracks and edge cracks are outside what it claims
  • No published resin volume, so you cannot compare it against the multi-bottle kits
The working behind the 9.3
Heat headroom: not scored (weight 22%)
The maker publishes no operating-temperature ceiling, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Install effort: 10.0 (weight 24%)
Drops in and sits there. No fixing of any kind, and it comes out again when you sell the car.
Price against the ceiling: 10.0 (weight 24%)
Listed at $13.5 on the compile date. This site's buyer has a practical ceiling around $150 for a single upgrade, so the scale rewards everything under $100 and falls away sharply past $150. The live price is very often different, and that is what the button is for.
Written commitment: not scored (weight 15%)
No warranty term published, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Spec transparency: 7.1 (weight 15%)
5 of the 7 specifications we went looking for are published by the maker (71%). A blank row is never a guess here: it prints “Not published” and it costs the product points, because a figure nobody will commit to in writing is a figure you cannot check.

Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled September 4, 2026 from the Permatex 09103 listing.

2Two cars, or a second try after the first one goes wrong

JOPHY Windshield Chip Repair Kit, 2-pack

9.2/10

Skip this one. Skip it if you only have one chip. The reason to buy this kit is the volume of resin, and if you have a single bullseye in the windshield you want the kit that publishes a maximum damage size so you know before you start whether the repair is even in scope. Permatex does that and JOPHY does not.

Two 20 ml bottles of resin rather than the single-use quantities everybody else ships, which is the honest answer to the fact that first attempts at this often fail. JOPHY also states it works on sunroofs, mirrors and side glass, not only the windshield. It publishes no maximum damage size at all.

Resin volume
2 x 20 ml
Damage types
Rock chips, bullseye, star breaks
Stated glass
Windshield, sunroof, side glass, mirrors
Cure
Daylight, self-leveling resin
Max damage size
Not published
Warranty
Not published

List price $15.98 per Amazon listing, September 24, 2026, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

What it gets right

  • Two 20 ml bottles, far more resin than any single-use kit here
  • Stated to work on panoramic sunroof glass, side windows and exterior mirrors
  • Self-leveling resin needing only daylight, with no vacuum pump or heating tool
  • Enough product for several attempts across more than one vehicle

Flaws

  • No maximum damage size published, the same blank as the Rain-X
  • Newest and least-established brand on this page
  • Side and rear glass is usually tempered rather than laminated, which limits where the extra claim applies
The working behind the 9.2
Heat headroom: not scored (weight 22%)
The maker publishes no operating-temperature ceiling, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Install effort: 10.0 (weight 24%)
Drops in and sits there. No fixing of any kind, and it comes out again when you sell the car.
Price against the ceiling: 10.0 (weight 24%)
Listed at $15.98 on the compile date. This site's buyer has a practical ceiling around $150 for a single upgrade, so the scale rewards everything under $100 and falls away sharply past $150. The live price is very often different, and that is what the button is for.
Written commitment: not scored (weight 15%)
No warranty term published, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Spec transparency: 6.7 (weight 15%)
4 of the 6 specifications we went looking for are published by the maker (67%). A blank row is never a guess here: it prints “Not published” and it costs the product points, because a figure nobody will commit to in writing is a figure you cannot check.

Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled September 4, 2026 from the JOPHY windshield chip repair kit listing.

3A second opinion on the same 1-1/4 inch limit

J-B Weld 2100 Windshield Saver Repair Kit

9.0/10

J-B Weld publishes the same maximum as Permatex, 1-1/4 inches, and publishes the resin volume too: 0.025 fl oz. That is a tiny quantity and it is meant to be, because a chip repair needs a drop rather than a bead. It says less than Permatex about the applicator and the cure.

Max damage size
1-1/4 in diameter
Resin volume
0.025 fl oz
Glass type
All laminated windshields
Damage types
Chips and stars
Cure method
Not published
Cure time
Not published
Warranty
Not published

List price $13.74 per Amazon listing, September 24, 2026, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

What it gets right

  • Publishes both the damage limit (1-1/4 in) and the resin volume (0.025 fl oz)
  • Stated for all laminated windshields
  • Stated to prevent further spreading, which is the real job of a chip repair
  • Cheap enough to keep one in the glovebox before you need it

Flaws

  • 0.025 fl oz is genuinely one repair, with nothing left over
  • No published cure method or cure time
  • Minimal instructions compared with the Permatex kit
The working behind the 9.0
Heat headroom: not scored (weight 22%)
The maker publishes no operating-temperature ceiling, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Install effort: 10.0 (weight 24%)
Drops in and sits there. No fixing of any kind, and it comes out again when you sell the car.
Price against the ceiling: 10.0 (weight 24%)
Listed at $13.74 on the compile date. This site's buyer has a practical ceiling around $150 for a single upgrade, so the scale rewards everything under $100 and falls away sharply past $150. The live price is very often different, and that is what the button is for.
Written commitment: not scored (weight 15%)
No warranty term published, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Spec transparency: 5.7 (weight 15%)
4 of the 7 specifications we went looking for are published by the maker (57%). A blank row is never a guess here: it prints “Not published” and it costs the product points, because a figure nobody will commit to in writing is a figure you cannot check.

Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled September 4, 2026 from the J-B Weld 2100 listing.

4Cracks as well as bullseyes

Rain-X 600001 Windshield Repair Kit

9.0/10

The only kit here whose instructions cover a crack as well as a chip: apply resin along the crack, add curing strips, move the car into direct sunlight. Rain-X is also unusually frank about how the repair goes wrong, publishing three specific failure modes. What it never publishes is a maximum damage size.

Damage types
Chips, cracks, bullseyes
Glass type
Laminated, to the first layer
Cure
Direct sunlight with curing strips
Published failure modes
3
Max damage size
Not published
Resin volume
Not published
Warranty
Not published

List price $12.67 per Amazon listing, September 24, 2026, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

What it gets right

  • Published procedure for cracks, not only bullseyes and chips
  • Publishes three specific failure modes: rushing the resin, air pockets, contaminated cracks
  • Warns explicitly that pressing too hard can extend the crack
  • Cures in direct sunlight with no lamp required

Flaws

  • No maximum damage size published anywhere, which is the one figure the competition does give
  • States it repairs to the first layer of laminated glass only
  • Rain-X's own advice is that repairs must be done before dirt or water enters the break
The working behind the 9.0
Heat headroom: not scored (weight 22%)
The maker publishes no operating-temperature ceiling, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Install effort: 10.0 (weight 24%)
Drops in and sits there. No fixing of any kind, and it comes out again when you sell the car.
Price against the ceiling: 10.0 (weight 24%)
Listed at $12.67 on the compile date. This site's buyer has a practical ceiling around $150 for a single upgrade, so the scale rewards everything under $100 and falls away sharply past $150. The live price is very often different, and that is what the button is for.
Written commitment: not scored (weight 15%)
No warranty term published, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Spec transparency: 5.7 (weight 15%)
4 of the 7 specifications we went looking for are published by the maker (57%). A blank row is never a guess here: it prints “Not published” and it costs the product points, because a figure nobody will commit to in writing is a figure you cannot check.

Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled September 4, 2026 from the Rain-X 600001 listing.

Prices last verified September 24, 2026. They move constantly; the figure on Amazon when you click is the real one.

Questions people actually ask

How big a chip can a DIY windshield repair kit fix?

Permatex and J-B Weld both publish the same limit: 1-1/4 inches in diameter on most laminated windshields. Rain-X and JOPHY publish no maximum at all. A US quarter is about 0.96 inches, so if the damage is noticeably wider than a quarter you are at or past what the makers who do publish a figure claim.

Will the repair be invisible?

No. Permatex claims crystal-clear results and Rain-X claims minimized appearance, but the honest framing from every maker here is that the purpose is stopping the spread and restoring strength. Expect the damage to be much less visible, not gone. That is also why a chip in the driver’s direct line of sight is a poor DIY candidate.

Do I need a UV lamp?

No. All four kits cure in natural daylight. Permatex states 15 minutes parked in the sun; Rain-X calls for direct sunlight with the curing strips applied. Do the application in shade and move the car into the sun afterwards, or the resin starts curing before it has filled the break.

Can these kits fix a long crack?

Rain-X is the only kit here that publishes a procedure for a crack — apply resin along it, add curing strips, move the car into sunlight. The other three describe chips, bullseyes and star breaks. A crack that reaches the edge of the glass is outside all of them.

Does a windshield chip really affect safety?

The Auto Glass Safety Council states the windshield provides up to 45% of the cabin structural integrity in a front-end collision and up to 60% in a rollover. A chip is a void in a structural panel, which is why every kit here frames the job as stopping the spread rather than improving the appearance.

Sources

Or start with the commuter shortlist.