The best trunk-mounted bike racks
No hitch, no roof bars, no drilling. Two straps, two bikes and one specification that half this category will not print.
By Sawyer V. · Published · How we research
We have not tested any of this. Everything below is compiled from published manufacturer specifications, and the arithmetic is printed so you can check it. This page carries affiliate links: if you buy through one we earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it does not change the order of the picks. Full disclosure.
The short answer
Buy the Allen Sports 102DN-R. It publishes a 70 lb maximum capacity, has 12 inch carry arms and side straps for lateral stability, ships assembled and costs less than half what the Saris does. If your car has a spoiler — which rules out most trunk racks — the Saris Bones is the one that states it fits vehicles with them, at 35 lb per bike and only 11 lb of rack. Before you drive anywhere, check that your rear plate is still readable.
| # | Pick | Install | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Trunk Mount Rack, 102DN-R Carrying two bikes for the price of a tank of gas | Clips on | 9.2/10 | $58.00 - view on Amazon |
| 2 | Allen Sports Deluxe+ 2-Bike Trunk Mounted Carrier, QS2 Getting it on the car fastest | Clips on | 7.8/10 | $84.99 - view on Amazon |
| 3 | Saris Guardian Trunk 2-Bike Rack Steel construction at a Bones-adjacent price | Clips on | 7.6/10 | $89.99 - view on Amazon |
| 4 | Saris Bones 2-Bike Trunk Rack A car with a spoiler, and bikes that must not touch | Clips on | 7.4/10 | $143.53 - view on Amazon |
Prices last verified September 24, 2026. They move constantly; the figure on Amazon when you click is the real one.

Why a trunk rack rather than anything else
A hitch rack is better in almost every way and requires a hitch, which most sedans and hatchbacks do not have and which costs more than any rack on this page to install. A roof rack requires bars, requires lifting a bike over your head, and costs you fuel economy and garage clearance permanently.
A trunk rack straps on in a couple of minutes, comes off in one, stores folded in the trunk it attaches to, and costs between fifty and a hundred and fifty dollars. For two bikes a few times a summer, it is the correct answer, and the compromises are real but bounded.
The specification half of them will not print
| Rack | Capacity | Rack weight | Spoiler fit | Bike separation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allen 102DN-R | 70 lb total | Not published | Not stated | Same level |
| Allen QS2 | Not published | Not published | Not stated | Same level |
| Saris Guardian Trunk | 35 lb per bike | Not published | Not stated | Same level |
| Saris Bones | 35 lb per bike | 11 lb | Stated yes | Arc, different levels |
Three of the four give you a number. The Allen QS2 — the more expensive of the two Allen racks — gives you none at all, which is a strange thing to omit on a product whose job is holding two bikes above a highway at 65 mph.
The legal detail nobody mentions on the box
Two bikes hanging off the back of a car sit directly in front of your rear license plate, your tail lamps and your brake lights. That is not a styling complaint — it is a requirement in vehicle codes across the country.
California Vehicle Code section 24601 requires the rear license plate to be illuminated so that it is clearly legible from a distance of 50 feet to the rear. Pennsylvania’s inspection regulations state that lamps may not be obstructed by a screen, bar, auxiliary equipment or a device that obscures or obstructs the beam, and Louisiana’s code explicitly rejects a vehicle whose high-mount brake lamp is obscured by an add-on such as a rack.
- Load the bikes and walk 50 feet back. Can you read the plate? Can you see both brake lights when someone presses the pedal?
- Rotate the bikes if not. Turning the handlebars and staggering the frames usually clears the plate without moving the rack.
- Fit an auxiliary plate and light board if it does not. This is a known accessory for exactly this reason, and it is cheaper than a citation.
- Check again with the bikes you actually carry. Two road bikes and two mountain bikes obscure completely different amounts.
Bikes that touch each other
On three of these four racks, both bikes sit on the same pair of arms at the same height. Over a two-hour drive, frames and cranks rub, and the marks are on the bike rather than the car. Individual tie-downs help — Allen supplies them on both its racks, dual per bike on the QS2 — but they do not eliminate it.
The Saris Bones is the only rack here designed around the problem, with an arc-based geometry that separates the two bikes onto different levels so they cannot contact. If you are carrying two bikes you care about, that is most of the reason to pay the difference.
Spoilers, hatches and the fit problem
- Spoilers are the usual disqualifier. Saris states the Bones fits most vehicles including those with spoilers. Neither Allen rack nor the Saris Guardian addresses it, and both Allen listings tell you to consult the manufacturer’s site for specific vehicle fit — which is a fair instruction and means the work is yours.
- You cannot open the trunk. With a loaded rack strapped across it, the trunk or hatch is shut until the rack comes off. Pack before you load.
- Paint contact is the risk. Every rack here pads the contact points — Allen with a padded lower frame, Saris with rubberized feet and coated hooks, the Guardian with heavy-duty foam pads. Clean the trunk lid before fitting; grit under a pad is how a rack sands a paint finish.
- Buy from the right seller. Allen states plainly that its warranty does not cover racks purchased through third-party sellers. That is worth knowing before you click.
The rest of the trip
With the trunk sealed shut by the rack, everything you are taking has to be in the cabin before you load the bikes, which changes how you pack. A packing order matters more than usual here, and a roof bag is the usual answer for the luggage the trunk was going to carry.
Anything loose in the cabin is now the only storage you have, so stopping it sliding becomes a real concern rather than a tidiness one.
Every pick, with the working
Each entry lists the specifications the maker publishes, the axis scores those specifications produce, and what you give up. Rows that read “Not published” are not omissions on our side: they are things the maker will not commit to in writing, and they cost the product points on the transparency axis. Specifications compiled September 4, 2026.
Our pickCarrying two bikes for the price of a tank of gas
Allen Sports Deluxe 2-Bike Trunk Mount Rack, 102DN-R
Seventy pounds maximum capacity, 12 inch carry arms and side straps for lateral stability, at well under half what the Saris costs. Allen publishes one detail that belongs in the buying decision rather than the small print: the warranty does not cover racks bought through third-party sellers, so where you buy it matters.
- Bikes
- 2
- Max capacity
- 70 lb total
- Carry arms
- 12 in
- Stability
- Left and right side straps
- Assembly
- Ships fully assembled, folds flat
- Frame protection
- Padded lower frame, individual tie-downs
- Warranty note
- Not covered if bought from third-party sellers
List price $58.00 per Amazon listing, September 24, 2026, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.
What it gets right
- Publishes a 70 lb maximum capacity, the same total as the Saris
- 12 in carry arms accommodate a wide range of frame shapes
- Ships fully assembled and folds flat for storage
- Cheapest rack on this page by a wide margin
Flaws
- Allen states the warranty does not cover units bought from third-party sellers
- Capacity is published as a total, not per bike, so an uneven pair is your judgment call
- Both bikes sit on the same level, so frames can contact on a long drive
The working behind the 9.2
- Heat headroom: not scored (weight 22%)
- The maker publishes no operating-temperature ceiling, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Install effort: 9.0 (weight 24%)
- Clips onto a vent blade or a headrest post. Two minutes, no tools, no adhesive, no residue.
- Price against the ceiling: 9.0 (weight 24%)
- Listed at $58 on the compile date. This site's buyer has a practical ceiling around $150 for a single upgrade, so the scale rewards everything under $100 and falls away sharply past $150. The live price is very often different, and that is what the button is for.
- Written commitment: not scored (weight 15%)
- No warranty term published, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Spec transparency: 10.0 (weight 15%)
- 7 of the 7 specifications we went looking for are published by the maker (100%). A blank row is never a guess here: it prints “Not published” and it costs the product points, because a figure nobody will commit to in writing is a figure you cannot check.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled September 4, 2026 from the Allen Sports 102DN-R listing.
2Getting it on the car fastest
Allen Sports Deluxe+ 2-Bike Trunk Mounted Carrier, QS2
Skip this one. Skip it for the 102DN-R unless the quick-snap setup genuinely matters to you. The two racks are from the same maker and carry the same two bikes, but the cheaper one publishes a 70 lb capacity and this one publishes nothing. Paying more to be told less is the wrong direction on a part that holds two bikes above a highway.
Allen's patented quick-snap setup, which is the one thing that genuinely separates trunk racks in daily use: the difference between a rack you fit in thirty seconds and one you wrestle with. What Allen does not publish anywhere on this listing is a weight capacity, which for a rack holding two bikes at 60 mph is the wrong specification to leave blank.
- Bikes
- 2
- Setup
- Patented quick-snap
- Tie-downs
- Individual dual per bike
- Stability
- Left and right side straps
- Assembly
- Ships fully assembled
- Max capacity
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
List price $84.99 per Amazon listing, September 24, 2026, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.
What it gets right
- Quick-snap setup, the fastest fitting design Allen makes
- Dual individual tie-downs per bike rather than a single strap
- Ships fully assembled with left and right side straps for lateral stability
- Padded lower frame keeps the bikes off the paint
Flaws
- No published weight capacity at all, the only rack here with that blank
- Costs more than the 102DN-R, which does publish a capacity
- Same warranty restriction applies to Allen racks bought from third-party sellers
The working behind the 7.8
- Heat headroom: not scored (weight 22%)
- The maker publishes no operating-temperature ceiling, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Install effort: 9.0 (weight 24%)
- Clips onto a vent blade or a headrest post. Two minutes, no tools, no adhesive, no residue.
- Price against the ceiling: 7.0 (weight 24%)
- Listed at $84.99 on the compile date. This site's buyer has a practical ceiling around $150 for a single upgrade, so the scale rewards everything under $100 and falls away sharply past $150. The live price is very often different, and that is what the button is for.
- Written commitment: not scored (weight 15%)
- No warranty term published, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Spec transparency: 7.1 (weight 15%)
- 5 of the 7 specifications we went looking for are published by the maker (71%). A blank row is never a guess here: it prints “Not published” and it costs the product points, because a figure nobody will commit to in writing is a figure you cannot check.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled September 4, 2026 from the Allen Sports QS2 listing.
3Steel construction at a Bones-adjacent price
Saris Guardian Trunk 2-Bike Rack
American-made steel rather than injection-molded composite, with the same published 35 pounds per bike as the Bones for sixty dollars less. It folds compact enough to live in the trunk it straps to, which is genuinely useful if you only ride at the trailhead. Saris does not publish the rack weight for this one.
- Bikes
- 2
- Capacity per bike
- 35 lb
- Construction
- American-made steel
- Straps
- Ratcheting, spring-loaded buckles, coated hooks
- Storage
- Folds compact
- Rack weight
- Not published
- Spoiler compatibility
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
List price $89.99 per Amazon listing, September 24, 2026, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.
What it gets right
- Publishes 35 lb per bike, matching the Bones
- Heavy-duty American-made steel with spring-loaded buckles and ratcheting straps
- Folds compact for storage in the trunk, a garage or a closet
- Coated hooks and heavy-duty foam pads to protect the car's finish
Flaws
- No published rack weight, and steel is heavier than the Bones composite
- Bikes sit on the same level, without the Bones arc separation
- No stated spoiler compatibility, unlike the Bones
The working behind the 7.6
- Heat headroom: not scored (weight 22%)
- The maker publishes no operating-temperature ceiling, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Install effort: 9.0 (weight 24%)
- Clips onto a vent blade or a headrest post. Two minutes, no tools, no adhesive, no residue.
- Price against the ceiling: 7.0 (weight 24%)
- Listed at $89.99 on the compile date. This site's buyer has a practical ceiling around $150 for a single upgrade, so the scale rewards everything under $100 and falls away sharply past $150. The live price is very often different, and that is what the button is for.
- Written commitment: not scored (weight 15%)
- No warranty term published, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Spec transparency: 6.3 (weight 15%)
- 5 of the 8 specifications we went looking for are published by the maker (63%). A blank row is never a guess here: it prints “Not published” and it costs the product points, because a figure nobody will commit to in writing is a figure you cannot check.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled September 4, 2026 from the Saris Guardian Trunk 2-bike listing.
4A car with a spoiler, and bikes that must not touch
Saris Bones 2-Bike Trunk Rack
Eleven pounds, a published 35 pounds per bike, and the arc-based design that separates the two bikes onto different levels so they cannot rub each other on a long drive. Saris states it fits most vehicles including those with spoilers, which is the specific case that rules out most trunk racks. Injection-molded arms and legs, so there is nothing to rust.
- Bikes
- 2
- Capacity per bike
- 35 lb
- Rack weight
- 11 lb
- Construction
- Injection-molded arms and legs
- Spoiler compatibility
- Stated fits vehicles with spoilers
- Straps
- Ratcheting anti-sway, vinyl-coated hooks
- Origin
- Stated made in the USA
- Warranty
- Not published
List price $143.53 per Amazon listing, September 24, 2026, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.
What it gets right
- Publishes capacity per bike: 35 lb each, 70 lb total
- Stated to fit most vehicles including those with spoilers
- Arc design puts the bikes on different levels so they do not contact each other
- 11 lb and rust-free injection-molded construction, stated made in the USA
Flaws
- Roughly two and a half times the price of the Allen rack for the same 70 lb total
- 35 lb per bike rules out most full-suspension mountain bikes and heavy e-bikes
- Straps mean you cannot open the trunk without removing the rack
The working behind the 7.4
- Heat headroom: not scored (weight 22%)
- The maker publishes no operating-temperature ceiling, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Install effort: 9.0 (weight 24%)
- Clips onto a vent blade or a headrest post. Two minutes, no tools, no adhesive, no residue.
- Price against the ceiling: 5.0 (weight 24%)
- Listed at $143.53 on the compile date. This site's buyer has a practical ceiling around $150 for a single upgrade, so the scale rewards everything under $100 and falls away sharply past $150. The live price is very often different, and that is what the button is for.
- Written commitment: not scored (weight 15%)
- No warranty term published, so this axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Spec transparency: 8.8 (weight 15%)
- 7 of the 8 specifications we went looking for are published by the maker (88%). A blank row is never a guess here: it prints “Not published” and it costs the product points, because a figure nobody will commit to in writing is a figure you cannot check.
Axes with no published input are dropped and the remaining weights re-normalized, so a product is not punished for a category where an axis does not apply. Specifications compiled September 4, 2026 from the Saris Bones 2-bike listing.
Prices last verified September 24, 2026. They move constantly; the figure on Amazon when you click is the real one.
Questions people actually ask
How much weight can a trunk bike rack hold?
Allen publishes 70 lb total for the 102DN-R. Both Saris racks publish 35 lb per bike, which is the same 70 lb total expressed per position. The Allen QS2 publishes no capacity at all. Most e-bikes and many full-suspension mountain bikes exceed 35 lb on their own.
Is it legal to cover your license plate with a bike rack?
No. California Vehicle Code § 24601 requires the rear plate to be clearly legible from 50 feet to the rear, and other states have equivalent requirements for plates and for unobstructed lamps. Load the bikes, walk back fifty feet and check. An auxiliary plate and light board solves it if rotating the bikes does not.
Will a trunk rack damage my car's paint?
Not if the contact points are clean. Every rack here pads them — Allen with a padded lower frame, Saris with rubberized feet and coated hooks. The damage comes from grit trapped under a pad, so wash the trunk lid before fitting and check the pads occasionally.
Can I open my trunk with a bike rack fitted?
No. A trunk rack straps to the lid and holds it closed, and a loaded rack cannot be swung out of the way. Load everything you need into the cabin first. This is the single biggest practical difference between a trunk rack and a hitch rack.
Do trunk racks fit cars with spoilers?
Saris states the Bones fits most vehicles including those with spoilers, and it is the only rack here making that claim. Both Allen racks direct you to the manufacturer’s fit guide for your specific vehicle, and the Saris Guardian does not address spoilers at all.
Sources
- California Vehicle Code § 24601, rear license plate legible from 50 feet
- Louisiana Admin. Code tit. 55 § III-813, add-on racks obscuring the high-mount brake lamp
- Saris Bones published 35 lb per bike, 11 lb rack weight and spoiler fit
- Allen Sports 102DN-R published 70 lb capacity, arm length and warranty restriction
- Saris Guardian Trunk published 35 lb per bike and steel construction
- Allen Sports QS2 published setup design and tie-downs